Branches: an introduction

The Naval Service has nine branches. The specialist rating and officer roles within them perform a vital function across the five services, enabling each to be operationally effective, wherever they are in the world.

For example, you could be an Air Engineering Technician, working in the Engineering branch for the Fleet Air Arm (service), maintaining Lynx helicopters on a ship.

Or you could be a Medical Officer (Submariner), practising in the Medical branch, keeping your fellow submariners in peak condition in the Submarine Service.

To help you explore roles that fit with your skills and ambitions, each branch’s principle function is summarised below.

Branches at a glance