Navy Board

The Navy Board is the body responsible for running the Royal Navy. It assists the First Sea Lord and Chief of the Naval Staff in their decisions. It meets seven times a year, or more frequently if required.

Members of the Navy Board are responsible for assisting the First Sea Lord to discharge his responsibilities as Head of Service and RN Top Level Budget Holder. Principal among these is to ensure that the Navy is fit to fight and can deliver the military capability required to defend the UK and its interests. The Navy Board comprises the following members:

First Sea Lord & Chief of Naval Staff: Admiral Sir George Zambellas KCB DSC ADC DL

The First Sea Lord is the professional head of the Royal Navy and is responsible for developing and generating a balanced and integrated RN capability, and for maintaining the fighting effectiveness, efficiency and morale of the Service.

Fleet Commander & Deputy Chief of Naval Staff: Vice Admiral Sir Philip Jones KCB

The Fleet Commander is responsible the provision of ships, submarines and maritime aircraft required to support mandated maritime operations.

Second Sea Lord & Chief of Naval Personnel and Training: Vice Admiral Sir David Steel KBE DL

As the Naval Service's Principal Personnel Officer, the Second Sea Lord is responsible for providing the right numbers of suitably trained personnel to deliver the Navy’s outputs both today and in the future.  

Chief of Fleet Support & Chief of Material (Fleet): Vice Admiral Simon Lister CB OBE

Chief of Fleet Support is the Chief of Materiel (Fleet) within DE&S and is responsible for the delivery of the maritime equipment programme and the availability of ships and submarines.  He is the Board lead on support to all maritime platforms, including naval aircraft and the defence supply chain.

Commander NATO Maritime Command: Vice Admiral Peter Hudson CB CBE

Vice Admiral Hudson was co-opted to the Navy Board by the First Sea Lord in April 2013 as a military Non-Executive Director, and to provide a NATO perspective to the Board’s deliberations.

Controller of the Navy (ACNS Capability & Force Design):  Rear Admiral Tim Fraser

The Controller of the Navy is responsible to the Board for Royal Naval procurement and safety issues.

Assistant Chief of Naval Staff (Policy): Rear Admiral Clive Johnstone CBE

The Assistant Chief of Naval Staff (Policy) acts as the First Sea Lord's Chief Executive, working to identify and drive the Board’s strategic objectives.  

Commandant General Royal Marines & Commander UK Apmhibious Forces: Major General Martin Smith MBE

The Commandant General Royal Marines provides the First Sea Lord with advice on Royal Marines and amphibious landing force matters.

Finance Director (Navy): Louise Tulett CBE

The Finance Director is the First Sea Lord’s principal adviser on financial issues and is also the Civilian Workforce Adviser, leading on implementation of civilian workforce policy.

Non-Executive Director (Policy): Dr Zenna Atkins

Dr Atkins provides an external challenge perspective to the Board’s business, and also serves as the Chair of the RN Audit Committee.

Other Attendees Meetings also include: Head of RN Communications (Commodore Gary Sutton); Secretary to 1SL Captain Andy Kyte RN); Command Warrant Officer (Warrant Officer Steve Cass); Deputy Head of Naval Staff and Minuting Secretary (Roy Brown); plus other officials and advisers as required.

Navy Board (Executive)

The Navy Board also meets in the Executive mode four times a year to consider quarterly reports on performance, finance and the management of risks., which helps the First Sea Lord to prepare for his Hold to Account sessions with the Permanent Secretary and Chief of Defence Staff.  Navy Board Executive meeting are supported by a additional Non-Executive Director (Mary Hardy who also serves as Deputy Chair of the RN Audit Committee), with the Navy Command Portfolio Office (led by Commodore David Dutton and Commander Ben Ripley) leading on the preparation of quarterly reports.